Archos 101 Internet Tablet; some thoughts

So I’ve had my Archos 10.1″ Android tablet for a few months now (since they came out in November, just about the first time in my life I’ve been an early adopter of anything). So I thought I’d give my impression of it so far. This is not a proper review or anything, just some random thoughts.


First of all, I like it. I really like it. It looks nice, it’s light, it’s easy to use, and so far it’s had fairly frequent firmware updates which have generally improved things from when it first came out. Unless you shut it off completely it comes on instantly. It connects to wifi in seconds, something I find quite impressive. It’s excellent for reading comics on. Web browsing goes smoothly. There’s Angry Birds, of course (and Rocket Bunnies!).

 
So it’s all great, right? Not quite. The tablet is a bit creaky, and while the build quality isn’t bad neither does it inspire the confidence to carry it with you unless you keep it very well protected. I don’t find this to be a major problem though as it is really a bit too big to carry around with you on a daily basis and I never intended to use it away from home to begin with. It’s something to keep in mind though. I also had to get a new generic charger for it as the original stopped charging. Which took some figuring out as the tablet said it was charing, only… it wasn’t. Reading other users’ experiences, this doesn’t seem entirely uncommon. Also while the tablet is excellent for web browsing, you’re unlikely to want to type out long emails or the like on it. The touch keyboard works well enough, but it doesn’t come close to a real keyboard. And while the tablet is good for reading comics, books are another matter. The screen is a bit too big for it, and the viewing angles not quite wide enough. You certainly can read on it, but you’re probably better off getting an ebook reader for that purpose.

 
So in the end, thus far I’m happy with my Archos tablet. There have been some frustrating technical problems, as with the charger, but when it works, it works well. As for if I’d recommend anyone else buying one… that really depends on what you intend to use it for. It’s a really nice device, but it doesn’t actually rise above the level of toy/comic viewer/web browser. For more information I’d recommend browsing the ArchosFans forums. Just keep in mind that, as on any forum, people complain a lot and gush a lot. The truth generally lies somewhere in between.

About Ted Dahlberg

I'm a stoic, a pessimist, a bookworm, a skeptic, and possibly other things which take more than one word to say.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Archos 101 Internet Tablet; some thoughts

  1. David Naylor says:

    Trevligt … Måste säga att jag har varit sugen på något liknande ett tag. =)

Leave a Reply

