Ghostbusters – Halloween Horror Month Movie Spectacular 2013 Day 1

Ghostbusters

I’m starting this month of horror movies with the one that – as far as I can remember – started me on the path to loving horror. Ghostbusters. I can’t remember when I first saw it, but I know that I was probably too young and the terror dogs really scared me. But I still loved the movie. I loved the Real Ghostbusters comics. I loved the few episodes of the Real Ghostbusters cartoon I managed to watch (we didn’t have cable TV). To this day, Ghostbusters is one of my absolute favourite movies.

So what was it like to watch it yet again? Like talking to an old friend. Over twenty years older than when I first saw it, there’s obviously nothing scary about it. But these days I can appreciate the writing, the humour, the acting in ways I didn’t when I was a kid. There is a reason this movie is such a classic. Or rather a whole host of reasons coming together just so. It might also very much be a product of its time. If it came out for the first time today, I’m not sure if it would work as well.

This was the first time I watched it on Blu-ray; I’m far from an expert on such things but it looked nice enough to me.

About Ted Dahlberg

I'm a stoic, a pessimist, a bookworm, a skeptic, and possibly other things which take more than one word to say.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

