Dylan Dog: Dead of Night – Halloween Horror Month Movie Spectacular 2013 Day 23

Dylan Dog Dead of Night
Dylan Dog is an Italian comic series starring the eponymous paranormal investigator and his assistant Groucho. Since I don’t know Italian I’ve had to make do with the sadly short run that was published in Swedish, and the Dark Horse collection in English. But however limited my exposure has been, I’m a fan. So I was really excited when I heard it was being made into a movie, Dylan Dog: Dead of Night. The end result is of course quite different form the comic, the most obvious difference being the absence of Groucho. That one is understandable though, as the character is literally a double of Groucho Marx. The stand-in assistant works well enough, although there’s no way he could live up to the original. And that pretty much sums up my feelings on the movie. I like it quite a lot as its own thing, and it works well as long as I don’t compare it to the original comic. It sadly hasn’t been released on DVD or blu-ray in Europe, but as I was writing this post and searching for some information I discovered it is actually coming out in both formats in just five days. Pick it up for Halloween if you’ve got the chance. It’s well worth your time.

About Ted Dahlberg

I'm a stoic, a pessimist, a bookworm, a skeptic, and possibly other things which take more than one word to say.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

