Daybreakers – Halloween Horror Month Movie Spectacular 2014 Day 5

Daybreakers

This was the second time I watched Daybreakers, and just like last time I can’t help wondering why I never seem to hear it mentioned. Perhaps my taste is even worse than I know, but I really like this movie. Its premise is “what if vampires took over the world”. Not as some secret force in the shadows a la Vampire the Masquerade. But as mainstream members of society, with the remains of humanity hunted down to add to the vampires’ dwindling blood supply. The main character starts the movie as a vampire hematologist working to find a blood substitute. A highly important job as the blood runs out and more and more vampires turn from productive members of society into feral monsters attacking their own.

Now if I have any complaint it is that I would have perhaps preferred more of a thriller exploring the politics of the vampire world rather than the action movie that actually develops. But there is enough of the story I want present that it’s in no way a dealbreaker (pardon the pun). And Sam Neill is excellent as always.

About Ted Dahlberg

I'm a stoic, a pessimist, a bookworm, a skeptic, and possibly other things which take more than one word to say.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

